Texas Newspaper Foundation

About the Foundation

Established in 1974, the Texas Newspaper Foundation, a non-profit organization, exists to honor the past, protect the present and build the future of journalism in general and newspapers in particular as a vibrant force in democratic society.

Contact Us

Texas Newspaper Foundation
305 S. Congress Ave.
Austin, Texas 78704
Phone (512)477-6755
Micheal Hodges, Registered Agent

Board of Trustees

Larry C. Jackson, La Grange, President
Phil Major, Cameron, Vice President
Marshall Day, Gatesville, Treasurer
Fred Hartman, Austin
Alvin Holley, Livingston
Mary Judson, Port Aransas
Jim Moser, Brenham
Russel Skiles, Lamesa
Terry Young, Austin

Among the efforts the Texas Newspaper Foundation supports are:

  • Continuing education for mid-career journalists offered through the Texas Center for Community Journalism at Texas Christian University. These workshops and seminars are provided at no cost to the participants.
  • Recognition of the profession’s visionaries, innovators and community builders through the Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame.
  • Preserving the stories of Texas journalists through the Texas Newspaper Oral History project at The University of Texas.
  • Supporting scholarship and internship programs, in partnership with the regional press associations of Texas.
  • Advancing the cause of freedom of the press, in Texas and around the world.
  • Improving the public’s understanding of the importance of newspapers to a flourishing democracy.

For more information on some of these projects, click on the images below.

Texas Center for Community Journalism
Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame
Texas Newspaper Oral History