Skip to main content

About the Foundation

Established in 1974, the Texas Newspaper Foundation, a non-profit organization, exists to honor the past, protect the present and build the future of journalism in general and newspapers in particular as a vibrant force in democratic society.


Continuing education for mid-career journalists offered through the Texas Center for Community Journalism at Tarleton State University. These workshops and seminars are provided at no cost to the participants.

Recognition of the profession's visionaries and community builders through the Texas Newspaper Hall of Fame.

Preserving the stories of Texas journalists through the Texas Newspaper Oral History project at the The University of Texas at Austin.

Improving the public's understanding of the importance of newspapers to a flourishing democracy.

Board of Trustees

Greg Shrader, Kerrville, President; Mary Judson, Port Aransas, Vice President
Russel Skiles, Lamesa, Treasurer; and members Larry Jackson, La Grange, Randy Mankin, Eldorado, Fred Hartman, Rosenberg, Ken Esten Cooke, Fredericksburg, Patrick Canty, Odessa, and Jim Moser, Brenham.